Home > Virginia
Virginia Appraisal Education Requirements
This information is intended to provide answers to commonly asked questions by real estate agents. It is not intended to replace detailed information found in your state’s statutes and regulations. Though we have made reasonable efforts to ensure that the information given is reliable and current, we cannot guarantee that it is. For more information please contact DPOR (contact information at bottom of this page)..
How to Become an Appraiser in Virginia
Real Estate Appraiser Classifications and Appraisal Training Requirements:
- Real Estate Appraiser Trainee: A minimum of 75 hours of appraisal education acceptable to the Board with at least 15 hours of the National Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP) course.
- Licensed Residential Appraiser: A minimum of 150 hours of specified appraisal core curriculum including the 15 hour National USPAP course; a minimum of 2,000 hours of appraisal experience in no fewer than 12 months; experience must be directed by a supervising appraiser in good standing, who shall be state certified; successfully pass the Uniform Licensed Residential Real Property Appraiser exam.
- Certified Residential Real Property Appraiser: A minimum of 200 hours of appraisal education acceptable to the Board with at least 15 hours the National USPAP course AND hold an associate degree or higher from an accredited college or university. Must also obtain over at least 2,500 hours of appraisal experience over a period of at least 24 months (to include at least 625 hours of property appraisal experience in complex one to four unit residential real property appraisal work.)
- Certified General Real Property Appraisers: A minimum of 300 hours of appraisal education acceptable to the Board with at least 15 hours of the National Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP) course AND hold a bachelor's degree from an accredited college or university. Must also obtain at least 3,000 hours of real property appraisal experience gained continuously over a period of at least 30 months (to include at least 1500 hours of non residential real property appraisal experience.)
For a Real Estate Appraiser Candidate Bulletin please call PSI at 1.800.733.9267 or visit their website at http://www.psiexams.com.
You may reach the board office by telephone at 804.367.2039 or 804.367.8552, by fax at 866.826.8863, or by email at firstname.lastname@example.org.
All licensed appraisers must complete 28 hours of continuing education during their two-year license term, to include the 7- hour course, The National Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice.